Citywire for Financial Professionals
Share this page:
Stay connected:

Opinion

Our columnists crack open the murky world of finance and investments

Latest articles

Investment Trust Watch: catastrophe, property or bust!

by Gavin Lumsden on Jan 20, 2017 at 17:01

Looking for an alternative to equities and bonds? Three of this week's cheapest trusts could offer an answer if you can get hold of them.

It was a fishy religion that let Remainers down

by Tim Martin on Jan 18, 2017 at 15:04

Tim Martin, chairman of JD Wetherspoon, blames 'semi-religious' faith in Europe for the overwhelming inaccuracy of Brexit economic forecasts.

David Kempton: 3 stocks in my New Year spoiler alert

by Gavin Lumsden on Jan 12, 2017 at 12:42

Experienced private investor remains confident about his recent stock purchases despite the many risks to stock markets this year. 

Numis: our New Year investment trust tips

by Danielle Levy on Jan 12, 2017 at 00:01

Lindsell Train, Witan, Woodford Patient Capital and BlackRock Income Strategies loom large in Numis' annual investment trust review.

Winterflood: investment trust tips for 2017

by Gavin Lumsden on Jan 10, 2017 at 12:37

Looking for inspiration for your investment trust portfolio? Winterflood Securities has published the annual review of its recommendations.

Funds Focus: Trump hits Woodford, Train & Smith

by Daniel Grote on Jan 09, 2017 at 17:06

A turnaround in markets, accelerated by Donald Trump's election, has put star fund managers on the back foot.

Investment Trust Watch: ‘buy’ Woodford, ‘sell’ Alliance

by Gavin Lumsden on Jan 06, 2017 at 16:49

Woodford Patient Capital and Alliance Trust are among the trusts standing on striking valuations as the New Year gets underway.

Numis: 12 New Year share tips

on Jan 06, 2017 at 13:05

A dozen large cap stocks gained a 'buy' recommendation from Numis Securities analysts at the start of this year. 

David Kempton: how my AIM tips are faring

by David Kempton on Dec 21, 2016 at 07:00

Experienced private investor David Kempton explains how his AIM stock picks have performed so far, and reveals two more for 2017.

Investment Trust Watch: my Scottish tip for 2017

by Gavin Lumsden on Dec 09, 2016 at 16:10

Things are afoot at Scottish Investment Trust that could raise the £720 million global fund's profile with investors in the New Year.

Dumb Investor

Dumb Investor

How will our novice fare on the markets?

Dumb Investor: 'If I do lose it all in some kind of Madoff-style scam... at least my humiliation will be public.'

Dumb Investor's latest articles

Investment Trust Insider

James Carthew shares his expert knowledge to give you the inside track on investment trusts.

Sorry, this link is not
quite ready yet