Citywire for Financial Professionals
Share this page:
Stay connected:

Opinion

Our columnists crack open the murky world of finance and investments

Latest articles

Why I bought Foreign & Colonial for a 'Brexit' bounce

by Gavin Lumsden on Jun 28, 2016 at 13:41

Dismayed by 'Brexit' but excited by investment opportunities, Gavin Lumsden makes a change to Citywire's Top Trusts portfolio. 

Investment Trust Watch: 'cheap' Foreign & Colonial

by Gavin Lumsden on Jun 17, 2016 at 14:54

Thin stock market trading ahead of the EU referendum is generating lots of opportunities in investment trusts, including the UK’s oldest.

David Kempton: why I'm voting for Europe

by David Kempton on Jun 16, 2016 at 08:00

EU membership has been good for the UK and most immigrants work hard and pay their way, says our experienced investor.

Investment Trust Watch: 6 trusts under Aviva's shadow

by Gavin Lumsden on Jun 10, 2016 at 15:20

Winterflood analysts have revealed the six trusts that might need to 'do a Witan' and cut a deal with Aviva which wants to sell its stakes.  

Investment Trust Watch: Lindsell Train flies worryingly high

by Gavin Lumsden on Jun 03, 2016 at 14:22

Numis Securities warns of ‘extreme’ premium on Lindsell Train as top-performing investment trust enters FTSE All-Share index.

Investment Trust Watch: Europe sell-off reignites

by Daniel Grote on May 27, 2016 at 12:48

Not for the first time this year, European investment trusts look cheap as they once again fall out of favour.

David Kempton: 5 stocks I'm buying as EU vote looms

by David Kempton on May 24, 2016 at 17:15

David Kempton isn't getting distracted by the EU referendum, finding five new shares for his portfolio including an exciting biotech stock.

The trusts targeting Vietnam's resilient growth

by James Carthew on May 24, 2016 at 10:14

Many Asian countries are suffering from China's problems, but Vietnam is weathering the storm well.

Investment Trust Watch: UK and Japan stars 'cheap'

by Daniel Grote on May 20, 2016 at 13:18

Fidelity Special Values and Baillie Gifford Japan boast strong long-term returns but their shares remain resolutely 'cheap'.

Who says active managers can't beat the index?

by Gavin Lumsden on May 11, 2016 at 11:46

Richard Peirson, manager of £1 billion AXA Framlington Balanced fund, retires after smashing the stock market return in 23-year career.

Dumb Investor

Dumb Investor

How will our novice fare on the markets?

Dumb Investor: 'If I do lose it all in some kind of Madoff-style scam... at least my humiliation will be public.'

Dumb Investor's latest articles

Investment Trust Insider

James Carthew shares his expert knowledge to give you the inside track on investment trusts.

Sorry, this link is not
quite ready yet